PDA

View Full Version : Alien Suicide Bomber, or something

xyphid
03-13-2011, 03:37 PM
:D
So this is my first attempt at creating a game character, no concept or special idea in mind, done just for fun and to study. Learned allot during the process. Certainly wouldn't mind some opinions, thanks!

Base geometry poly-modelled in maya then imported into zbrush for sculpting and polypainting. UV's basically layed out with UV Master with poly groups in zbrush then tweaked a bit in maya. I didn't really know how to go about retopo so I used a combination of some base meshes of my sculpt and some freshly created geometry :arteest:

High Poly (ZBRUSH BPR)
http://img863.imageshack.us/img863/5017/alien.jpg

Low Poly Converted (MAYA)
http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/1060/aliengame.jpg

Maps
http://img811.imageshack.us/img811/236/mapsi.jpg

Btw I don't know why but the forum resizes the images and totally ****s up the colors and all, so if you're really interested better open these up

Cheers!

Pyke
03-14-2011, 11:14 AM
Hey man,

I cant really comment on the technicaly stuff (low poly makes my head hurt), but design wise, if he is an alien, why not make him even more alien? Right now he looks like a 'man in a suit' type of alien-I really think you could push the concept of an alien suicide bomber quite far.
Having the bomb surgically grated into him...or perhaps he is covered in ritualistic scaring/tattoo's?
If you are set on a humanoid, you can always give him a set of residual arms, which he uses to set off the detonator?

xyphid
03-14-2011, 08:26 PM
Yo Pyke

Thanks allot for the input! I can't agree more with the stuff you said, seems like overall the concept can be taken forward, I guess the fact I really created this just as a way of getting acquainted with the technical aspect of creating a game character is only half of an excuse.