PDA

View Full Version : Mac pro with maya? any issues with ATI radeon 5870?


drawone
03-11-2011, 03:44 PM
Hi,
My studio is getting new machines and we are going to switch everything into mac.
From what i read from this forum, i dont see any problems..but just want to make sure before we order mac pros
Has anyone experienced issues using Maya with Mac Pro(ATI radeon 5870)?
Please tell me if you have any issues with Maya 2011 or 2012?


thanks in advance

cgbeige
03-11-2011, 04:50 PM
I have the dual Westmere Mac Pro with 5870. It runs super well with 2011 and 2012 (I'm a beta tester) with 10.6.6 and the 64-bit kernel (default for the 2010 machines). All features of viewport 2 in 2012 work fine: MSAA, Ptex, depth of field, ambient occlusion, motion blur, gamma, animation motion trails, mental ray shader rendering, etc and it's really, really fast with this card. ATI on with Maya OS X isn't like ATI with Maya on Windows - it's a completely different world and bug free. No disappearing or locked gimbal controllers, etc.

2012 also adds native Qt alien widget support to OS X so the GUI is noticeably faster than 2011

drawone
03-11-2011, 07:38 PM
awesome!!!
that is really good to hear.
Thanks for the reply

CGTalk Moderation
03-11-2011, 07:38 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.