PDA

View Full Version : indoor/outdoor rendering

zacleck
03-08-2011, 10:37 PM
I'm kind of new to Mental Ray and the whole architectural side of things and I'm having some trouble finding a balance in my lighting. It's a large interior scene with huge windows along part of the space that lets in a lot of daylight. I can adjust my exposure control on the camera paths that are mostly indoor and for the ones that have mostly daylight lighting, but some of the cameras go from one to the other, so it either goes from well lit to really blown out or well lit to really dark, and I can't find the balance. I'm calculating GI and emitting an enormous amount of photons but it still ends up being significantly darker inside than it is when you're near the windows.

Does anyone have any techniques or approaches in how to handle this? In a couple of the camera's I can render the outside stuff separately, as it's own pass, but on a couple of the shots it spills in on the interior geometry, so I can't really do a separate pass for that. One thought I had was to set my exposure control to make the daylight light look right, then just pump up my interior lighting to brighten the dark interior areas, but the GI map takes half a day to calculate so trial and error on those settings is not an option, really.

I'm using Max Design 2011, a daylight system, photometric lights, Mental Ray and the Arch and Design material.

Thanks.

Bitter
03-09-2011, 12:41 AM
GI takes forever to calculate? Photons? They are generally fast. They may be shooting into space and not storing. That can be solved by using an invisible container around the scene with a photon shader to store them if they miss. Not an elegant solution.

But I would suggest using portal lights for the interior and rebuild your final gather map for the camera animation using FG set to off and give it a file name. (This is if rendering on one machine)