PDA

View Full Version : Underwater cloth

Dartmoorninja
02-25-2011, 03:20 PM
Hey everyone, I was hoping someone would be able to help me with a simulation I am trying to do. I need to create a digital character, wearing a roman tunic swimming underwater.

Having always used 3DS max, the cloth simulations are just not up to standard, so decided to switch to Maya and use nCloth instead.

As a complete Maya noob, I've only had minor success, which has just come from playing around within the nucleus, but just wondering if anyone could advise me, or knows a better way of simulating an underwater environment dynamic to ncloth, be it through nucleus settings, or some other way such as creating a fluids field.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks all!

Frankyboy
02-27-2011, 06:08 AM
For underwater cloth, I would suggest increasing the air resistance and the weight of the cloth, while reducing gravity.

fantasizer
02-27-2011, 07:37 AM
You're not the only one who turns to Maya for the sake of cloth simulation. Apart from the nucleus settings, you may want to construct a better garment with something like jc.clothes 2 (http://sites.google.com/site/cgriders/jc/clothes) .

Duncan
03-01-2011, 07:42 PM
The key with underwater cloth is that the mass of water is greater than air, so one can simply increase the airDensity attribute on the nucleus node. Also if the cloth is somewhat buoyant, then lowering gravity a bit might help. Don't increase the mass of the cloth, as this will counteract the effect of increasing the air density.

Instead of increasing air density on the nucleus node you could also increase drag on the cloth( some tangential drag is also a good idea, but set lift to zero or a low value ).

If you wanted to get fancy and simulate bubbles of air trapped in the clothing you could emit colliding liquid nParticles with "ignore gravity" and an upward directional field applied. (make the system intermediate object so it doesn't render).

Duncan