PDA

View Full Version : Why does making accurate size models in Maya doesn't result in realistic simulations?


pouyan
02-24-2011, 11:28 PM
Why does making accurate size models in Maya doesn't result in realistic simulations?

For example:

I created a 2700 unit(centimeter) tall building, which is 27 meters (88 feet).

It is pretty accurate for a 9 story building.

If I create simple rigid body box falling from the 9th story it comes down very very slowly.

I set the gravity to 98 units(centimeter) , which is 9.8 meters.

What an I doing wrong??

Thanks

HowardM
02-25-2011, 12:26 AM
Space Scale. ;)

zp86
02-25-2011, 09:53 AM
i remember that one unit in maya means one meter.
ncloth don't consider about your unit setting.
maybe i'm wrong.
you can check it out with maya help.

martincutbill
02-25-2011, 12:24 PM
Yes, fantastically annoyingly, 1 maya unit = 1 metre in Nucleus physics, yet 1cm in modelling.

Gravity (http://download.autodesk.com/us/maya/2009help/files/nCloth_nodes_nucleus.htm#WS1a9193826455f5ff6026605b1181c8f4f2e-2ad6) interprets Maya’s units as meters. When the working units of your Nucleus object’s scene is not set to meters (such as Maya’s default centimeter working unit), you may need to adjust the Space Scale of your object’s Maya Nucleus solver. Otherwise, the large-sized nCloth or nParticle objects in your scene may not behave as desired. For example, when Space Scale is 1.0 (default), Gravity treats a 100 centimeter wide nCloth object like it is 100 meters wide. To improve the behavior of your large-sized nCloth objects, reduce the Space Scale value.
If you are modeling such that one unit is equal to one centimeter, the Space Scale value should be set to 0.01.


http://download.autodesk.com/us/maya/2009help/index.html?url=nCloth_nodes_nucleus.htm,topicNumber=d0e496741

Duncan
03-01-2011, 08:01 PM
Note that (classic) rigid bodies in maya don't use the nucleus space scale. Instead just make gravity 980 if you modelled in cm.

Duncan

CGTalk Moderation
03-01-2011, 08:01 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.