PDA

View Full Version : First Character Rig: Blend Shape Problem

VanDookie
02-24-2011, 08:34 PM
I'm working on my first character rig for an animation, I have some digital tutors dvds from a few years back that have helped me wrap my head around some of the key concepts but now I'm running into problems in the only area I was comfortable with when I started: Blend Shapes.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/nato_vandookie/pess2.jpg

I have at this point a fully rigged and weighted character with a few set driven key controls and some simple curve control objects. But I've been waiting to do the blend shapes. The problem I'm having though is when I apply the blend shape, I get the correct deformation, but my entire character drops a couple inches, this adds on top of each blend shape activated.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/nato_vandookie/blends.jpg

Like I said, this is my first attempt at a full character for animation, I have no experience here and am completely baffled. Any help would be appreciated even if that help means I have to start over...

Stavs82
02-24-2011, 10:19 PM
I think the problem is from the order of your inputs on your mesh. The inputs needs to have the skin cluster higher on the list than the blendshapes. If this is the problem then it is easy to fix. Simply select the geo that has the blend shapes on it and then click the button (inputs to selected object). You can find this button to the right of the magnet icon(Make Live) at the top of tool bar. The inputs to selected objects icon looks like a green box with a red arrow. After you click the button then go to All inputs. After that middle mouse drag so that the blend shapes are under the skin cluster. Hope this helps.

I just noticed that you didn't specify a program(or I missed it in the post). My solution was for Maya.

nuternativ
02-25-2011, 02:16 AM
Your character drops a couple inches when activating blendShapes?