PDA

View Full Version : Teesside, Bournemouth or Escape?

beonx
02-23-2011, 08:46 PM
Hello guys,

I've read a lot of threads in and out of this forum about these schools/universities. I just want a specific suggestion for my case. Here's my situation.

I graduated from Visual Communication Design, in 2010. I'm living in Istanbul, Turkey. Right now I'm working as a part-time graphic designer. I want to become a character animator in the future. I've been thinking about going into a masters programme in UK.

I applied for Bournemouth University, 3D Computer Animation programme in the first case. I've got a conditional offer, but I had to make two interviews with their programme leader. First we had an interview on the phone. They rejected me. Afterwards they offered me a second chance. It went well. But probably this year they have a lot of application coming down to the course. So my chances on Bournemouth is not a piece of cake.

After my first interview with Bournemouth, I applied for Teesside University, Digital Character Animation programme. I heard and read a lot of about Animex Festival, facilities and etc. They offered me a conditional, which I have to pay the deposit and obtain an unconditional. Here's the big part fellas. After I sent my application, few days past and without evaluating my portfolio they sent the conditional offer. No portfolio assessment, even though it was needed. I insisted to send my portfolio to them. They looked into my portfolio and in a couple of hours, they confirmed that the offer still remains.

I was really disturbed and curious about what what I was doing. You know, one looks into your portfolio and wants to make an interview with you and it's really difficult to get in.
The other one just looks into your qualification and tells you "Yeah just pay the deposit and get the unconditional".