PDA

View Full Version : SplineIK setup problem

UniqueCharacter
02-15-2011, 07:08 PM
Hello Rigging extraordinaires. I am a rigging novice/intermediate. I used to be decent back in my rigging classes in college, but it's been more than a few years. I tried posting a thread about this back in 2008, and quickly moved on to other things since the problem wasn't resolved. Here is the old closed thread:
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=54&t=701158

I created my skeleton, controllers, ikSolvers, and have clustered the CV's for the SplineIK curve. It works fine until I try moving the rig around from the root controller. I'm clearly missing something from those rigging classes, because it moves the spine all strange. I've watched some videos and read some splineIK tutorials online, and all of them fail to show me how to parent my splineIK with its controls into the entire rig.

I really would like to get this rig finished so I can get some animation for my reel. I'd greatly appreciate some help from anyone who remembers what I clearly do not.

I'm using Maya 2008.

I uploaded the Maya file to my webspace for your review:

uniquecharacter.net/justRig.mb (http://forums.cgsociety.org/uniquecharacter.net/justRig.mb) (104KB)

Thanks in advance for your help!

uiron
02-16-2011, 08:35 AM
you've got a simple double transform issue - you're moving spine_curve1 along with root control, then on top of that, moving cluster deformers push curve shape further.
simpliest solution is to unparent spine_curve1 / put it somewhere else outside controller hierarchy.