PDA

View Full Version : 3DMax Daylight shadow/matt pass problem


deathevor
02-10-2011, 09:53 PM
Hi,

I have such problem.

Here's the example of the scene:
http://img577.imageshack.us/img577/9656/29867130.png
By deathevor (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/deathevor) at 2011-02-10

I've used mr Sky Portal and rendered it with Mental Ray (Final Gather and GI ON).

I also rendered Diffuse and Shadow pass, and everything worked ok.

But, my aim is to render the same image with Matte/Shadow/Reflection Material on the ground plane. (For later compositing on to Video footage)

So that what I get.

1) Rendered picture - Ok http://www.undiscoveredmedia.co.uk/images/uploads/check.png

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/8273/96932866.jpg
By deathevor (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/deathevor) at 2011-02-10
Here's an Alpha channel for it. And first problem is that it doesn't have the area with reflected light in the front of the cube.
http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/8541/3alpha.jpg
By deathevor (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/deathevor) at 2011-02-10

2) Shadow Pass - Fail http://reliable-hosting-reviews.com/resources/images/red-x.gif (just empty RGB and empty Alpha channels)
http://img199.imageshack.us/img199/2912/4alpha.jpg
By deathevor (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/deathevor) at 2011-02-10

3) Diffuse Pass - Fail http://reliable-hosting-reviews.com/resources/images/red-x.gif (Some glitches + Shadow pass)
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7429/13199096.jpg
By deathevor (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/deathevor) at 2011-02-10
And basically the alpha channel for Diffuse pass is the same as for Render
http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/4058/5alpha.jpg
By deathevor (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/deathevor) at 2011-02-10.

So really I can't make it work at all. I've tried with different lights (Phonometric, Daylight, Standard lights), with FG and GI off, different materials(Standart and Mental Ray) . But still the same result, Diffuse contains shadow pass and Shadow pass sometimes has some information, but mostly it's glitches.

Does anyone can suggest the way to make it work?


I also want to ask about this - Which Pass should I use to render this part separately from others? (I will remind that on Renderer and Diffuse pass the alpha didn't contain this area)
http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/4976/18192537.jpg
By deathevor (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/deathevor) at 2011-02-10


Thanks

michaelaaut
02-19-2011, 10:10 AM
try this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1TcdGBs5VoY&feature=related

hope that helps

deathevor
02-19-2011, 11:49 AM
Thanks,

But it doesn't do anything with passes.

If I'm rendering everything as a single pass, it goes well.
The problem occurs only with separating the passes.

CGTalk Moderation
02-19-2011, 11:49 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.