PDA

View Full Version : Hardware display draws transparent textures out of order?


lakehaze
02-10-2011, 08:23 AM
http://img694.imageshack.us/img694/7977/displayerror2.png (http://img694.imageshack.us/i/displayerror2.png/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)
Yet another display error for me :( I have done something to upset the hardware render gods...

Textures with alpha channels do not draw in order. You can see above that the floor is being drawn on top of the walls. There are countless other artifacts, but it is the most obvious. Viewed from below, the floor continues to be drawn 'in front of' the walls, although the shed will then be drawn 'in front of' the floor. I can't account for the draw order changing based on viewing angle, but I feel like most of the strangeness can be attributed to the 'blending mode' of the display. But that's a wild guess and doesn't really account for all the behavior.

I'm ruling out a texture setting problem because it renders correctly with the software renderer.

There is only a single mesh in the scene. The main structure, ground, roof, and chimney do not share any vertices, but they are a single object with a single material and projection.

This error is on my main quad-core production computer with a should-be-capable ATI sourced ASUS 5770 video card.

Textured and Textured Decal display modes have always worked with previous, non-transparent textures.

lakehaze
02-16-2011, 03:02 AM
No advice?
Now I have to figure out if this is an obviously stupid mistake, or a seriously rare issue.
Or maybe my post is just confusing?

I should say 'transparent' textures with alpha channels don't display correctly; it works when I disable the material's transparency.

Taka
09-25-2011, 09:19 AM
I have the same problem. Alpha sorting is absolutely shit in viewport. I'm making hairs for characters and it's really annoying that I can't see what I'm exactly doing unless rendering.

Once I fixed it by using realtime shader and opengl display in Softimage 2010. But in 2012 I can't do it again because they cut out a lot of real time shaders. I don't know why! They name it unsupportable shaders. Thanks Autodesk to make a shit from softimage. ...Sorry

If anyone has a solution for alpha sorting problem, please help out!!!

CGTalk Moderation
09-25-2011, 09:19 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.