PDA

View Full Version : New speed modeling?

Williamwinkler
02-08-2011, 08:39 AM
Hey guys,

So I'm not sure how exactly to approach this but here I go. I am a student at Fullsail, I graduated in 2006 and have returned as a "completer" student (I basically learn new techniques and take some extra classes to up my degree). I tend to talk to a lot of the newer students and friends of mine always trying to figure out new work flows and ways to get better/faster at our craft. This SMC section to cg talk has always interested me, but I was never "impressed" with my own work to want to join. Now I feel more confident in my work and driven to become better I am sad to see this section has faded from the looks of things. This is something I would like to share with the community here on CGtalk.

A phrase that always stuck with me is "Your first 6 things are going to suck, your next 6 will be good, and so on and so forth. Now get through them fast so you can make the great stuff". I advise others and my self to start the day off with a speed test in order to "Get threw the crap & get to the great stuff". At the beginning of the week (or what ever time frame you give your self for this) make a preprepared scene for a fresh start. For example a Bust of someone: set up your front & sides, have a folder with reference images, set up render cams, and create a project. Once this is created and name it what ever you like but as a clean start. Every day you begin your day you open that file and GO, model as much as you can, as fast as you can, for how ever long you set aside for this task (I plan to give my self 30min or 1 hour). At the end of the time frame stop, take images of your work, and save out with whatever naming convention you create for your self. At the end of the week look back at your progression, learn, study, and adapt your new skills to your work.