PDA

View Full Version : vray multi displacement in maya woes


fuzilogic
02-07-2011, 08:38 PM
false alarm, got it working after banging my head around this for the day!

setting shift to negative 1 fixed the puffyness, this probably wouldnt work for an animation but for now it works



So ive been trying to get a multi displacement going in vray(for maya) and I cant seem to get it to work.

ive pretty much been using http://uppix.net/4/a/2/38980c8bcb2ccd9ca048902d7247d.png as my network. Now I know how to setup displacement with a single image map, and I had the above mentioned setup work seemingly fine in mentalray however with the above, vray doesnt take in the alpha gain/offset info and everything turns to marshmallow puffiness.

one texture mapped into the network works fine.
this is a file1--displacement node--shadinggroup
http://uppix.net/d/e/e/0e44cdb97a433a39012de4b836a22.png

two however ignore the offset/gain
file1---\
:beer: ----plus/minusaverage----displacement node---shadinggroup
file2---/
(excuse the smiley but it fills the gap as the formatting eliminates the spaces)
note ive tried mixing it up, including the luminance after displacement, before displacement, having two displacement nodes go into a plusminusaverage etc changing the plusminusaverage to average instead of sum but nothing works
http://uppix.net/f/5/7/8110c73b56aca4a7bf6c98ee5ab2a.png

using 32bit from zbrush doesnt seem to work at all in vray(the right side is 32bit, left is 16bit)
http://uppix.net/d/0/8/608d39e08cd0ab8ed9358d44f6d4e.png

any suggestions? id really rather not using one big ass texture for this or switch back to mentalray for this project but I seem to be running out of options

thev
02-08-2011, 05:50 PM
What's the operation for the plus/minusaverage node? If it is add, you'll probably need to decrease the displacement shift.

Also, what file format are you using for the 32-bit displacement?

Best regards,
Vlado

michaelaaut
02-11-2011, 07:20 AM
very interesting... maybe it has something to do with the mesh geometry ?

When testing the vray displacment, I just found out that it doesn't kick in on all surfaces.
Just look at the example below:

http://www.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/4ca141dd4f6daeed254ce811d03cf0a789b5631f359de27905e3d483de7ec5b86g.jpg

Same shader. and for both objects I used the the same Vray Node (Single Displacment).

But why does it work on the simple sphere (polysphere) and why does it NOT work on the revolve object (ep-curve/revolve) ?

Maybe kind of same error happens to your geometry ?

CrustedInk
02-11-2011, 09:35 AM
vray for maya seems to have some issues with nurb surfaces. you should use polys. vr can render nurbs, but there are a lot of features, that arent workin, like displacement or rendering a velocity pass

fuzilogic
02-11-2011, 03:36 PM
sorry I shouldve made it more clear, I fixed the problem(as noted in the edited first two lines of my original post).

CGTalk Moderation
02-11-2011, 03:36 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.