PDA

View Full Version : problem with getAttr in a loop

Freshfromthegrave
02-07-2011, 09:48 AM
hey guys, i'm still very new to scripting so this is probably one of those noob questions ;) i'm writing a script that randomizes transforms based on min and max inputs from the user. at the moment i'm struggling to get the objects to do nothing if a checkbox next to the axis in the UI is not checked (so you're using the checkbox to say you want to translate randomly on X but not on Y etc).

so the offending code is:

string $selectedObjects[] = `ls -sl`;
for ($objects in $selectedObjects)
{

//Checkbox queries

int $TranslateXCheckboxOnOff = `checkBox -q -v TranslateXCheckBox`;

if ($TranslateXCheckboxOnOff == 1)
{
float $InputTransXMin = `floatField -q -v TranslateXMin`;
float $InputTransXMax = `floatField -q -v TranslateXMax`;

float $InputTransYMin = `floatField -q -v TranslateYMin`;
float $InputTransYMax = `floatField -q -v TranslateYMax`;

float $InputTransZMin = `floatField -q -v TranslateZMin`;
float $InputTransZMax = `floatField -q -v TranslateZMax`;

float $TransXRandom = rand ($InputTransXMin,$InputTransXMax);
float $TransYRandom = rand ($InputTransYMin,$InputTransYMax);
float $TransZRandom = rand ($InputTransZMin,$InputTransZMax);
xform -t $TransXRandom $TransYRandom $TransZRandom $objects;
}
else
{
float $InputTransXMin = `getAttr $objects.translateX`;
float $InputTransXMax = `getAttr $objects.translateX`;

float $InputTransYMin = `getAttr $objects.translateY`;
float $InputTransYMax = `getAttr $objects.translateY`;

float $InputTransZMin = `getAttr $objects.translateZ`;
float $InputTransZMax = `getAttr $objects.translateZ`;

float $TransXRandom = rand ($InputTransXMin,$InputTransXMax);
float $TransYRandom = rand ($InputTransYMin,$InputTransYMax);
float $TransZRandom = rand ($InputTransZMin,$InputTransZMax);
xform -t $TransXRandom $TransYRandom $TransZRandom $objects;
}
}