PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Rhino surfaces

sepehr
06-02-2002, 08:28 PM
I'm quite new to Rhino.
My problem is surfaces I make using NetworkSrf command don't match the curves which are made of.
Specially if the surface is intended to be a thin one.
I have rebuilt the curves and surfaces with different point counts and degrees but still they don't match.
I have also changed "Tolerance" options when making the surface.
The only thing that happens is I have a surface with more or less faces.
as can be seen in the pictures below.
Even when I extude a surface from an edge of a surface the extruded surface.

What should I do?
Please help me.
Thanks in advance
:bounce: :bounce:

sepehr
06-02-2002, 08:29 PM
Another view

sepehr
06-03-2002, 10:42 AM
This might seem to be very easy to you but has stoped my modeling project in Rhino and now I have to continu it in 3DMax...

When I see the wireframe one I don't find anything wrong and they seem to be match properly.....!!!

So is this a Rhino bug?
:thumbsdow

Wiro
06-03-2002, 01:03 PM
been a while since I used Rhino heavily but have you tried combining the surfaces?
Surfaces are sometimes tesselated differently (depending on when or how they were created and if they have been modified later) and even though the curves match the polygons may not. You may also get it right again by updating the tesselation, but I can't remember where that was (I don't have Rhino here right now)...possibly in the options.
Combining surfaces tells rhino that they definartely belong together and so the tesselation should be the same on all.

Wiro

Grey
06-04-2002, 12:40 AM
Select the surfaces and type JOINSRF

If the suerfaces refulse to join, type JOINEDGE and select the edges

If that doesn't work, type PTON for both surfaces, turn OSNAP on to Point and snap the points on one surface edge to another. Then they'll join.

NETWORKSRF works bestt if the curves line up.