PDA

View Full Version : Car Render - Need Feedback

HerbertC
01-27-2011, 03:40 PM
I know, yet another car render. But since I've never done one before, I decided to give it a try. My main goal here was to make it looks real, not necessarily beautiful. It was done over two afternoons, with Maya and MentalRay. The car is a TurboSquid model, and I worked with Exidge's (from CG-Cars) backplate and HDRI envi package.

So, if you guys could give me your opinion on the camera mapping, lighting, shading and compositing I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!

http://img692.imageshack.us/img692/701/cliolow.jpg

Kyron
01-27-2011, 05:49 PM
I think it looks spot on. Nice job there. What lights did you use and render settings?
Only thing that pops to my mind is the shadow under the car, Im by no means a lighting expert but it almost looks to "clean". Maybe its just me, but very nice render indeed :thumbsup:

JeffPatton
01-27-2011, 07:23 PM
Seems a bit bland/flat looking at the moment (IMHO). I think some additional contrast would help. Also since the environment/back-plate is cloudy and/or dusk perhaps a more lively paint color would add some "pop" as well.

I bet some darker shadows under the car would help too because there wouldn't be a lot of bounced light under there in this particular lighting situation...but that may come with the added contrast.

Kev3D
01-27-2011, 10:04 PM
To me, the shadow looks too sharp. The lighting is very diffuse, therefore the shadow should be very soft.

HerbertC
01-27-2011, 10:51 PM
Kyron: I worked only with the HDRI pano as environment and FG turned on with one extra light bounce. I used Exidge's backplate and HDRI package.

JeffPatton: Actually, I lowered the contrast a bit on photoshop, trying to mike it fit better on the backplate. I might have gone a little to far. I'll try a more vivid color and see how it goes... :)

Kev3D: I agree with you and Jeff about the shadows. I'll make a few adjustments.

Thank you all, guys!!

HerbertC