PDA

View Full Version : Detailing Dezkin - tylerART

tylerart
01-26-2011, 11:47 PM
A texturing contest; what a great excuse to learn Mari. I'm new to the contests side of CGTalk, so if I'm doing anything wrong, please let me know. Without further adieu, and with the chance of everyone copying my awesome color scheme, here's my initial mock-up.

http://tylerart.squarespace.com/storage/post-images/color_mockup_1.jpg

I'm also posting / journaling the experience on my site. http://tylerart.net/sketchbook

So far, just a bit of modeling in Maya on the planks and a paint over in Photoshop.

Thanks!

rhinton
01-27-2011, 03:54 PM
Nice job.
After looking at your work I believe you're going to come up with something pretty fancy.

Makes me want to try out this software.

tylerart
01-27-2011, 04:46 PM
Thanks rhinton! I've been pretty excited about Mari. I think it's going to be as vital to texture artists as Photoshop and ZBrush. I've been playing around with it (or at least trying, had to buy a new graphics card just to get it to work) and I really like how it works and the power behind it.

Joviex
01-31-2011, 12:04 AM
Good job so far.

Also noticed you are at DD now - congrats.

tylerart
01-31-2011, 03:04 AM
Here's a WIP of the head texture. After painting, I'm going to darken up the textures to match my initial painting.

http://tylerart.squarespace.com/storage/post-images/WIP%20-%20Head%2001.jpg

Mari is such a resource HOG! I turned down the buffer to 8 bit and baking can take up to 30 seconds before responding. Guess Mari wasn't intended to run on a laptop. I've noticed that sometimes I can paint a simple stroke and it takes forever to bake, then sometimes I can paint a large complex area and it bakes in a second or two. Anyone else notice that?

tylerART

myketindle
01-31-2011, 05:32 AM
Nice work tyler loving the skin texture . Yeah i reackon the baking seems to have a mind of its own i find the first bake takes a while .

tylerart
02-01-2011, 01:24 AM