PDA

View Full Version : Normal maps bugs ( maya )


TomaszTosza
01-22-2011, 10:23 AM
Hope this is apropriate place for this question. Always when I'm baking normal maps from hp to lp i have crazy glitches on flat surfaces. Nothing is wrong with geometry and UVs, smooth groups are correct I think. You really can see bugs with specular, without it is sometimes really hard to see them but often is not good enough. On the picture below u can see the problem, I've changed levels for higher on normal map to help u see glitches which u are almoste not able to see on the texture. Hope u had some similar problems and u have solusions for this. I'd be really gratefull.

btw everything done in maya, when I'm baking in other programs I don't get gliches so it's maya problem.

http://img820.imageshack.us/img820/8774/normalglitchesmaya.th.jpg (http://img820.imageshack.us/i/normalglitchesmaya.jpg/)

Bot13
01-23-2011, 02:15 PM
On what subdivision are you working? How's the mesh density? Maybe show some wires.
It could also be the saving of the file. Are you saving it as TGA? If you do, check the bit rate , should be 32 or maybe 24.

danishihandai
01-24-2011, 09:13 PM
How are you baking your normal map?
Tell us a bit about your method
And post the wireframes of your work too. It helps a lot to see what's going on :)

Stonepilot
02-10-2011, 05:06 PM
Try using xnormal. It's free and it works well. I stopped using Maya for normals.

TomaszTosza
02-10-2011, 06:00 PM
Yes, but xnormal is a little bit uncomfortable for me and it produces different kind of bugs. So still don't know what is this problem in maya, I'm just always trying to fix this glitches in ps, but it's not the solution :\

Stavs82
02-10-2011, 06:30 PM
Not sure if you tried this or not yet, but in the transfer map settings for the target mesh are you changing the display to envelope and then adjusting the search envelope %? That might help with some of the problems.

caro
02-11-2011, 04:26 AM
My guess would be either your envelope is not big enough (most likely that's not the case) or your highpoly and lowpoly are perfectly in the same world space. Push highpoly a little little little bit inside along its normals, that should help.

If that would help feel free to send me the scene at 3dkarol@gmail.com, I'm pretty sure I'd be able to help.

powodzenia! :)
Karol

Zenderquai
02-16-2011, 04:09 PM
it looks like you have hard edges on your LOWpoly target mesh

make sure all your verts are merged, the edges are softened, and the UVmapping equal on each face, and try re-projecting the normal.

I've only ever used maya for Normal-mapped project work, and i've rarely been let down!

Just noticed something else.

the edges to your Low-poly shape are mapped independantly - Share as many edges and UVs as you can - UVs are used to calculate the normal map - if the UVs are separated, it gets treated similarly to a hard edge..

I've just had a stab at it..
I won't for a second say that it can't be done - but given the form you're trying to express, the size and number of triangles you're using, it might just be as well to forget the normal, and invest some more triangles, and make it just with geometry.

The key is definitely to share as many verts and UVs as you can - and to keep your edges soft.
let the normal map do the talking.

TomaszTosza
02-16-2011, 09:55 PM
I understand what u are saying, and I do it correct, another example of the problem :) just wonder if anyone one day will solve this bug :D

http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/1001/bugsnormal1.th.jpg (http://img707.imageshack.us/i/bugsnormal1.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

CGTalk Moderation
02-16-2011, 09:55 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.