PDA

View Full Version : MAYA: Lighting an object/Outdoor Inquiries

rawb
01-21-2011, 05:06 AM
Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to the 3d scene, maybe 4 months now. I am having some issues with lighting and consistancies and was hoping I could get some advice. My issue is primarily with lighting. I am fairly comfortable lighting an interior scene, and have found some extremely helpful tutorials and videos for that, but I am having a horrible time trying to do the lighting for an exterior scene.

Right now I am working on modeling a building for class and I find that when I render it the quality drops from the real-time model (the settings are set to production quality, and raytracing is enabled). Which is weird, as when I light an interior (using linear decay and point light usually), the objects look very nice.. but this building is not coming out as well.

There's a few issues I am having.. I am not really sure how to go about lighting an outdoor scene..which lights to use, how many, where to situate them.. I find it kind of difficult to grasp. I believe t hat this is to be a night time scene, but I don't want the image to be pitch black or anything.

Which leads me to another query.. lighting an object for display. Say with that same building, I want to have the model for my portfolio, but with no environmental lighting, is there set ups anyone can suggest? Or tutorials? I am definitely looking for some tutorials on my own, but I know that a lot of people have their own resources they may like to share.

It's really frustrating as I just can not seem to get the same quality out of my image as if I were just lighting a room with a bunch of objects or something.

IF anyone is at all curious as to the level of my 3d skill (not very high, as I am new) a few of my scenes are being dumped at amadarien.deviantart.com. Also, I can post the model I am working on tomorrow if it would help.

thanks in advance!

kanooshka
01-21-2011, 01:10 PM
Welcome to the world of 3d!