PDA

View Full Version : Noise in slope (or altitude) transition?


moiremusic
01-19-2011, 06:50 PM
Right now, I'm just using the Advanced Material Editor, which I'm still pretty new to. I've set up a sand material and a temporary grass-ish material, and set slope constraints on the sand so it fades into the grass:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5130/5370146417_724bbd044b_o.jpg


But what I'd really like to do is get some noise in that transition. Something more like this:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5289/5370146433_29f7d66011_o.jpg


What is the best way to go about this? The Function Editor sort of terrifies me, but I have a feeling that's where this is headed. ;)

moiremusic
01-20-2011, 06:27 PM
Well, amazingly, I was able to deconstruct another material and answer my own question. The short answer (for anyone else with the same question) was to choose Edit Function on the Alpha of the topmost layer. In the function, feed noise into the Alpha output. I stole my noise MetaNode from the stock "Rock and Grass" material and tweaked its slope values:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5248/5373394756_2245c9960d_o.png

And yes, while I was waiting for the back of my brain to figure out a solution, the front of my brain was working on better ground textures. I'm on a crash course, and I'm learning a lot fast!

eworc
01-22-2011, 07:49 PM
You are making progress, which is always good.

CGTalk Moderation
01-22-2011, 07:49 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.