PDA

View Full Version : how to set Blendshape at diagonal? :cry:


aiken0415
01-18-2011, 07:44 PM
http://i1084.photobucket.com/albums/j415/aiken0415/how02.jpg

:cry:
please help me, Thanks. :bowdown:

Stavs82
01-18-2011, 09:03 PM
The diagonal is usually a combination of blend 2 blend shapes. Usually for a control like that you have 4 total blend shapes linked in. one for all the way up, all the way down then left, and right side. After those 4 are set up the diagonal is a combination of either up and left, up and right, bottom and left, or bottom and right.

aiken0415
01-19-2011, 06:18 AM
thanks for reply. :)
ya, i understand what you said. but how about i don't want combination of blend 2 blend shapes at the diagonal, what i want is another blend shape at the diagonal. Any way can do this? I saw some information which is from other forum, they using " expression " or script to set it , but they didn't explain much about that, does anyone here know about this? or got another method can achieve this?

eek
01-19-2011, 03:34 PM
Think of it logically,

Weights/blendshapes all go from a a scale of 0-1. If we have a blendshape 'A' going from left to right, and 'B' going from bottom to top, the diagonal 'C' would then be top-right or [1,1] - therefore its a multiplication of the previous to values:

A = [0,1]
B = [0,1]

C = A * B

It will always be in a range of [0,1] because is inputs are bound by that range, 1 * 1 = 1. Secondly the nice thing with this is that you'll get natural exponential blending to the diagonal target.

a (0.1) * b(0.1) = 0.1111
a (0.2) * b(0.2) = 0.4
etc..

This leads to some interesting dimensional math.

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2011, 03:34 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.