PDA

View Full Version : Building Workflow for Dynamic Simulations


martincutbill
01-17-2011, 03:08 PM
I'm playing with physics engines at the moment, but I was wondering what the best workflow for creating building etc out of bricks (like all the lovely vid on the topic) for destruction is?

Getting models made out of bricks that don't fall down or intersect before running the sim is strangely unwieldly and I was wondering how people go about it...

DynamicBoy
01-19-2011, 11:46 PM
You can make your model out of bricks, and it is going to look great, but if you are planning to demolish it later you are going to get in trouble, Maya rbds needs your bricks separated by a gap, which is absolutly awkward, in addition Maya rbds get stucked for more than some tens of objects in simulation so it is not worh to try it. You have to use a dynamic pluging able to handle this stuff, Pulldownit plugin is great for demolitions, look at this case study about an ancient building destruction with Pdi:

http://www.pulldownit.com/forum/index.php?topic=6055.0

Derek Wolfe
01-20-2011, 01:10 AM
I suppose the needs of different dynamics solvers will change the way you will approach the problem. There likely is no single setup that will work well for all solvers.

martincutbill
01-20-2011, 07:21 AM
Yeah, I'm not using Maya rigid bodies (being well aware if its limitations), I'm playing with Dynamica/Bullet. I'm really happy with the solve (and it creates inset collision shapes to prevent intersections), just having problems building stable objects that are free-standing before a collision.

Mainly I'm wondering if that's a reasonable expection, of if I need to constrain everything together and control the removal of this constraints. NOne of the sample YouTube bids seem to donthat though, so I'm wondering what I'm doing wrong.

I've looked at PullDownIt and it looks very impressive, but I didn't want to spend my time developing skills in a professional package that (beyond the free version) seems unwilling to show it's price anywhere. Unless I'm missing where it says on the website, it's pro price is not public.

Aikiman
01-20-2011, 01:18 PM
one approach which is probably not available in all demolition software would be to build your building as one mesh and then use crack maps in your case a brick wall map, so that it breaks as if the wall was brick.

ruchitinfushion
01-20-2011, 05:22 PM
I was wondering what the best workflow for creating building etc out of bricks (like all the lovely vid on the topic) for destruction is?
Sometimes ago,i made MEL script to stack cups,chck below link
http://www.vimeo.com/12369211
Same way you can stack your bricks in buildings shape using MEL script.If you want your building shape to be more realistic then use high detail poly model & then pre shatter with custom tools.After that you can start to BooooooooooooooooooM with RBD solver.Enjoy

Derek Wolfe
01-20-2011, 06:02 PM
Using constraints is a good approach, or controlling when an object becomes dynamic. Either way will require a clever triggering setup to make everything appear to behave in a natural way.

ruchitinfushion
01-21-2011, 07:44 AM
Check this http://vimeo.com/16824342
I think this is more then enough to understand basic work flow.

DynamicBoy
01-27-2011, 12:09 AM
I've looked at PullDownIt and it looks very impressive, but I didn't want to spend my time developing skills in a professional package that (beyond the free version) seems unwilling to show it's price anywhere. Unless I'm missing where it says on the website, it's pro price is not public.

You can see the prices for Pulldownit Pro in the online shop:

http://www.pulldownit.com/pulldownit-pro.php

hope this solves your distrusts.

onetime
01-27-2011, 09:36 AM
I don't see a price anywhere on that page.

Are you supposed to register in order to see how much the plug-in costs?

DynamicBoy
01-27-2011, 12:31 PM
Just click on the red big icon which says "purchase" to see the prices list.

onetime
01-28-2011, 09:31 AM
This is what I get when I click your link. There is currently no big red purchase button. (http://i.imgur.com/zyyMz.png)

I think this is the sort of thing that martincutbill was referring to when he used words like "unwilling to show it's price" and "it's pro price is not public".

For anyone who's interested, if you register you will receive an email which contains the pricing information. Currently, the price stated is 295 euros per license. Worth considering if you're doing a lot of rigid body sims. I was provided with good support on their forum when I had a problem getting the free version working (wonky installation, turns out there was a bug, but they were very fast fix it).

Personally, I'm waiting to see what Fracture's pricing will be (probably too much), but until then I will stick to Dynamica.

tkdmatt
01-28-2011, 10:55 AM
I see a purchase button when I click the link, maybe clear you're cache? (Or ctrl f5).

Maybe try go to http://www.pulldownit.com/shop1.php , which is where the red button goes to.

onetime
01-28-2011, 11:28 AM
yep, tried that. Also tried a different browser and even a US based proxy. Really weird, but doesn't matter since the mystery's solved.
Thanks for the link.

CGTalk Moderation
01-28-2011, 11:28 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.