PDA

View Full Version : Terrain deformation with box#2?


HorusWNC
01-15-2011, 01:02 PM
Hi. I`m totally newbie in PFlow box#2, hope You can help me.
I`m working on tank animation, tank is rigged and working fine, now I need it to deform ground.
Is it possible, to create terrain with box#2 and then deform it by driving vehicle (as collision object)? After reading this tutorial: http://4rand.com/learn-stuff/box2-soft-bodies-and-deformations/ I`ve created plane with noise as a terrain, glued it to colision object, but after runing simulation, particles are shaking, and I want them to be still:
http://img508.imageshack.us/img508/8039/box2terrain.jpg
What am I doing wrong?

Or maybe there is better way to for terrain deformation (but I don`t want tu use bumpmapping)?

Glacierise
01-15-2011, 06:05 PM
You don't need that. Just spawn particles on the lower edge of the thread, by travel, give them a cube shape and then mesher them. You can use the mesher as a volumeselect mesh on the ground object and apply push on top.

HorusWNC
01-16-2011, 03:01 PM
I`m not sure how should I do it. Can You show it on pictures?

haavard
01-16-2011, 07:20 PM
Even simpler, drop the mesher and use the volume select modifier straight up with the spawned particles.
Got a little write up on the subject here http://folk.ntnu.no/havardsc/site/wordpress/?page_id=279

HorusWNC
01-20-2011, 10:49 PM
Thanks for this metod, but the result is not as good as I want to:
http://img37.imageshack.us/img37/666/pftrack.jpg
It is too noisy, I nead more regular shapes :/

Glacierise
01-22-2011, 10:34 AM
You usually put relax on top of it, it smooths it out.

HorusWNC
01-23-2011, 03:08 PM
I have used relax, but it doesn`t help very much. The best results is, when I set particles to be spawned on "vertices all" -it makes really sharp marks but the problem is, that in this option particles are spawned only on 6 of 99 tracks, I don`t know why.

PsychoSilence
02-16-2011, 04:28 PM
post ur max file maybe for max2010? files and images say more then 1000 words :)

HorusWNC
03-01-2011, 11:25 AM
Sorry for delay, here it is:
http://rapidshare.com/files/450399382/Pzkpfw_IV_J_reactor_pflow_1.max
Particles are spawned on additional geometry linked to reactor`s tracks.
Reactor`s and high-poly tracks are on others layers.
Just go to frame 300 and watch what is happening.

CGTalk Moderation
03-01-2011, 11:25 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.