PDA

View Full Version : Instanced Geometry as collision point with nParticles


THExDUKE
01-14-2011, 09:42 AM
Im wondering if its possible to get an instanced geometry to collide or kind of "shape" the particles that it fits the shape of the geometry.

So lets say i would instance a sphere then its no problem, since I can select a praticle shape of a sphere and adjust the size to the geometry for having accurate collision.
But what if I have a cube? A sphere does not work here.
Is there a way for that?

Thanks for taking time.

ranxx
01-14-2011, 02:22 PM
that would be a really nice feature, but it unfortunately isn't part of maya 2011. If you can't aproximate your shape with spheres you will have to go with rigid bodies or ncloth.

-ranxx

THExDUKE
01-14-2011, 04:30 PM
Hmm...I feared that. :(

Thanks anyway mate!

ZeitG
01-14-2011, 07:57 PM
here in Demoreel (http://www.pauljewell.com/) 1:23 - 1:46
here in the bottom (http://www.pauljewell.com/breakdown.html) general explanation of the process (not even explain ... I do not know what to call it)

ranxx
01-14-2011, 08:15 PM
nima was a rigid body solver (not available anymore from what I gather).

-ranxx

here in Demoreel (http://www.pauljewell.com/) 1:23 - 1:46
here in the bottom (http://www.pauljewell.com/breakdown.html) general explanation of the process (not even explain ... I do not know what to call it)

THExDUKE
01-15-2011, 07:26 AM
Thats exactly what I am looking for. I mean Cinema4D can do that. Not sure about Max though. But, cmon...this beast here is supposed to be industry standard!!!

KidderD
01-15-2011, 03:28 PM
Nima is now called Dynamica and uses the bullet solver

Current version Dynamica-2.77-Windows_AllVersions.zip (http://code.google.com/p/bullet/downloads/detail?name=Dynamica-2.77-Windows_AllVersions.zip&can=2&q=)

Located here.

http://code.google.com/p/bullet/downloads/list

ranxx
01-15-2011, 11:07 PM
are you sure about that ? I thought Dynamica was written by Walt Disney Studios .. as an open sourced plugin which uses their dynamics solver 'Bullet'. Nima was originally written by 'feeling softare' and was only available up to maya version 6 or 7.. and predated dynamica by some years. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

thanks

-ranxx

Nima is now called Dynamica and uses the bullet solver

Current version Dynamica-2.77-Windows_AllVersions.zip (http://code.google.com/p/bullet/downloads/detail?name=Dynamica-2.77-Windows_AllVersions.zip&can=2&q=)

Located here.

http://code.google.com/p/bullet/downloads/list

THExDUKE
01-16-2011, 09:03 AM
I think it is / was from Disney. Thought Ive read that somewhere. But the issue with dynamica is that it is not a rigid instancer. So I still would not get a possibility to instance a desired geometry on a particle system and have it rigid. Or am I wrong?

KidderD
01-16-2011, 06:11 PM
You are not wrong, Bullet, Nima, Dynamica (whatever) it was called, or by whom, was never a RBD instancer. If you absolutely need this out of Maya, your going to need to jump through some hoops. You could create your instancer, run the uninstancer script, and then use these objects in Dynamica for your simulation, but that is a round trip that I'm sure has a few pitfalls in it. If you have access to another solution, I would try that.

THExDUKE
01-17-2011, 09:30 AM
Hmmm... I have never used an uninstancer script. But here is then the problem, that you need to define a certain amount of objects for a simulation / animation.
However, since Im not a scripting guru I need to wait for something whether from ADSK side or from anyone else who is sharing knowlege.

Thank you for taking time! :)

THExDUKE
01-17-2011, 09:46 AM
I was just taking a look on Peter Shipkovīs page and his SOUP and something came into my mind. I dont know if its possible or not...

So everyone is talking about point clouds and stuff like that. So wouldnīt it be possible to create point cloud in a certain amount for the instanced geometry and use that for collision? I have no clue if that works, or how this could be done but its just an idea and it brings this a bit forward?

ZeitG
01-17-2011, 10:47 AM
a time when the same idea to visit me too. but I could not realize it. I think that now with the SOUP to implement it will not work. I could be wrong.

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2011, 10:47 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.