PDA

View Full Version : Maya renamescript?


sagarjahagirdar
01-10-2011, 01:46 PM
Hi there can anyone make a tool which can rename the object in the scene just like in 3ds max... it would be helpful to rename objects of same type....and all at a time......

Regards,

Saagar.J

sagar.jahagirdar@gmail.com

pixelranger
01-10-2011, 02:08 PM
Yes, anyone can.

Try this (http://lmgtfy.com/?q=maya+rename)

sagarjahagirdar
01-10-2011, 03:14 PM
hahaha that was easy thankx a lot it will be a lot helpfull to me.....

thankx a lot!!! Andre Hitsoy

pixelranger
01-10-2011, 03:29 PM
If you want some script, try googling it first (or looking on creativecrash). Chances are, someone's already made it.
Asking if someone can write it for you (AND look into how Max is doing it first) is like asking "can anyone make me a cg car that works like the one in Batman Begins? It would be helpful".

But seriously, check out renameIt (http://www.creativecrash.com/maya/downloads/scripts-plugins/c/renameit). It doesn't do 'per type', but it does a lot of other things. Very handy and is useful when rigging (reordering attributes in the channel box).

CGTalk Moderation
01-10-2011, 03:29 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.