PDA

View Full Version : Professional MEL Practices

James-Arlyle
01-06-2011, 05:15 AM
Hello,

I'm new to MEL but not to programming and I was wondering if there were any resources out there that detail what one should and should not do when writing MEL.

I know there are books like this for other languages like Scott Meyers Effective C++, but I'd like to know if there are any equivalent resources out there for MEL.

As an example of what I mean, here's a few practices I've come across while reading other threads on this forum:

-avoid global variables at all cost (there will almost always be a better solution or a more stable work-around to them)

-certain actions such as deleting history get stacked onto the undo queue and when repeated frequently will eat-up exorbitant amounts of RAM (the solution I saw posted was to temporarily turn undo off using the undoInfo command with the -swf flag while the script runs)

Any suggestions or words of advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

uiron
01-06-2011, 09:04 AM
i guess the best practice would be "if you don't have any MEL code already, just start off with Python right away". MEL nowadays is more of a legacy, you can even see people with large MEL codebase migrate to Python (Jason Osipa's facial setup scripts, Zoo toolbox, etc), not to mention those that use Python since Maya 8.5 (me would be one of those).

NaughtyNathan
01-06-2011, 11:19 AM
I agree, as a professional MEL programmer I'd also recommend learning python! :D

Seriously though, knowing MEL is great, and is a big help understanding how Maya works and customizing it, but unless you specifically want to edit Maya's default UI there's very little to warrant learning MEL over python. Python is a far better programming language, and there's pyMel too which is a good combination of the two (best of both worlds with additional bonuses)