PDA

View Full Version : How do you map reference texture to Standard Terrain?

moiremusic
01-05-2011, 11:41 PM
I'm new to Vue and going through the docs for the first time. I've just made it through the Terrain Editor section. I need to be able to map a reference texture to my Standard Terrain, so that I can create terrain using it as a guide. The docs mention this is possible, but do not explain how. Can anyone walk me through this? Using Vue 9.0 Complete (demo).

Wabe
01-06-2011, 07:19 AM
Maybe I missed something - you can not load any textures inside the terrain editor as reference.

But wouldn't it be much easier to use the reference texture directly for creating the terrain? Reset the terrain first, go to the load bitmap section in the terrain editor and there load your texture.

Out of my mind (nor sitting in front of Vue right now), if a bitmap should fit perfectly onto a terrain you enter the pixel size values of the bitmap as resolution of the standard terrain (whatever units these are) and use "object parametric" for the mapping in the material editor.

moiremusic
01-06-2011, 12:41 PM
Thanks greatly for your response, Wabe. I saw this video (http://www.e-onsoftware.com/products/vue/vue_9_infinite/?page=2) (see the "Sculpt from References" section) which states that: "You can now apply a bitmap to a terrain, and then view this bitmap inside the Terrain Editor as you sculpt the terrain." Is this feature limited to Vue 9 Infinite? I was hoping that it was included in the Terrain Editor of all Vue 9 versions. That video shows almost exactly the functionality I need, but of course Vue Infinite is pretty costly and I'd love to know if this feature is available in Vue 9 Complete or Studio.

xad
01-06-2011, 03:14 PM