PDA

View Full Version : Asking for the basics.

dinglingling
10-15-2003, 06:24 AM
I am new to 3D CG.

I searched on the net for modeling tutorials, and I found there are actually a lot of them. However I found these tutorials seldomly talk about concepts or theories. What I am trying to say is, most tutorials tell the reader to do this or not to do this without telling the reasons behind the actions.

Is there any resource about the basic but essential concepts about 3D modeling?
Or maybe you have got some precious experience for learners, could you share with us?

Thanks in advance.

gmask
10-15-2003, 06:34 AM
be effecient ..only use enough detail to make the shape.. too much detail makes it difficult to animate with..

work in quads as much as possible if you are converting to sub-d's or smoothing otherwise you end up with bad topology..

use toplogy that folows natural lines and flow inthe object ssurface.. espeically if it is organic.. this will not only help make it realistic but also aid in animation

learn the ways of XDUGEF but don't ask why ;-)

dinglingling
10-15-2003, 07:35 AM
well,
whatz XDUGEF?:blush:

I checked a website about XDUGEF, however, the links are bad.

Emberghost
10-15-2003, 07:44 AM
What program do you use? I know you are not asking for tuts for a specific program but it couldn't hurt:surprised

dinglingling
10-15-2003, 08:19 AM
I am using Maya 5.0 unlimited edition.

Any kind of help is appreciated.

BazC
10-15-2003, 09:27 AM
I've never used Maya so I can't help much there but I think the best approach in any package is to learn a few basic tools, just half a dozen or so, and start making things of your own without following a tutorial Tutorials are great but like you say they don't often teach the ideas behind the action, personal experiment is best for that.
Decide which type of modelling to use, box, poly by poly, spline, nurbs (Maya does Nurbs doesn't it?) and get a good feeling for that technique before worrying about others.