PDA

View Full Version : Beginner needs advice !

bernhard
01-02-2011, 09:54 PM
Hello everyone,

and happy new year.

Just started with a beginner lection after reading the Loomis books.
I try to paint simple objects, like boxes, cylinder forms, etc.

But I am kind of stuck when I try to get more detail, and starting the next level of the painting.

Because I am an absolute beginner, I was thinking to start just with black/white painting as well as easy shapes. But the my main question is:

How to get more details ?
what's the next step after roughly blocking some basic shapes ?

Zoom in ? Changing Brushes ? Blending ?

Below the link to the painting..... I hope it works, just got my Ipad and playing around with sketchbook pro. thx for your help, hints and ideas.

Painting (http://m.flickr.com/#/photos/47515670@N02/5317797328/sizes/l/)

Lunatique
01-03-2011, 08:30 AM
Block in large shapes with large brushes, medium shapes with medium sized brushes, and detailed with small brushes. Also, make the distinction between hard-edged brushes, soft-edged brushes, and textured brushes. Use hard-edged brushes when you need sharp edges, and use soft brushes when you need smooth gradation, and textured brushes when you need a textured surface. There are also many different ways to customize brushes--for example, I can take a simple hard-edged round brush and then customize it so that a single stroke with it will give me pretty convincing looking group of leaves of slightly different greens, values, and saturation, without having to actually paint every single leaf. The next run of the workshop I'm teaching starts in a couple of weeks (linked in my signature)--you might want to take a look and see if it's something you're interested in.

bernhard
01-03-2011, 10:42 PM
Thank you very much Robert !

First I tried to switch from a soft brush to a hard brush, and I guess I know what you mean.
I also could see that it's important to know how the shadow should theoretical fall.