PDA

View Full Version : rigging questions( I know very original thread title)

mastone
01-02-2011, 04:52 AM
Hi all
I was wondering if there was some rigging guru here online who can help me with this one.
I know some basics of rigging a character but I am by no means an expert, I enjoy rigging just as much as doing UV mapping and scripting.....tedious work with no real visible result in short, but here goes:

I am stumbling on a few problems( I at least percieve them as problems maybe it is easy);
-How can I drive a highpoly character through a low poly rig/character? I don't mean a wrap deformer because this crashes Maya when I tried to apply it, with highpoly I mean somewhere around 50.000 to a 100.000 polygons.......
-How can I achieve something similar to pinning like in motionbuilder, because now when I pull the IK controller (of the hand for instance) further then it's reach the body stops moving and I basically want it to pull the character up or downwards, this makes it easier for posing, instead of having to rotate the torso pelvis etc.

Thanks in advance

below is an image of my progress thusfar:
http://www.eyellem.nl/rigging.jpg

Boucha
01-02-2011, 07:12 AM
wrap is very hardware intensive ... go for skin cluster ... u can skin the high poly mesh with the same joints and just simply copy the skin weights from low poly to high poly. u can toggle hiding of mesh while animating and rendering !

nuternativ
01-02-2011, 10:53 AM
Hi,

For the second question, pinning is done in maya by having your controls linked with others using constraints (not to direct parented in the hierarchy). with constraints you can change(or animate) the weight of each parent individualy just to have your arm to follow the chest control, the root control, both of them or none of them.

sorry for my english.

hope this helps.

mastone
01-02-2011, 09:32 PM
Hi guys

Thanks!

mastone
01-06-2011, 12:52 AM