PDA

View Full Version : Realistic Dust Effects

disneyschumi
12-31-2010, 05:44 AM
Hi Guys i am Very new in the field of Vfx. I am trying to achieve a an realistic dust effect and i need help/..i am not able to achieve it..can u guys help me out, how to achieve this effect and whts the best approach...

Wht i am trying to achieve is...There is will dust which is covered on the floor and when the wind blows and all the dust particals will disperse...whts the best way to create this to get very realistic results...is it Maya particals or Maya Fluids...and how to achieve it... Please guys help me out here..

Thanks and Regards
Utsav

Robbyh
12-31-2010, 09:35 PM
have you even tryed experimenting with it ?

multiple ways of doing that.
dozins of tutorials for that
id use particles. they are a litle eazyer to do.
then again if your experienced you will maybe prefer fluids.
'
basicaly it depends alot on what you are experienced with ?

IRAFK
01-01-2011, 06:37 AM
I would suggest particles. I would create the scene, setup lights, etc and then create a volume of "dust", let them fall to the floor(or, use the particle create tool and just paint them on the floor). If your going to use the volume method as apposed to just painting them where you want them, after you have let the scatter across the floor (going to need to use a gravity field, maybe even a turbulence field to spread them out randomly)select the scattered particles that are on the floor and use Initial State, that will lock them in place so that when you get ready to animate and render them out, they will be lying on the floor and not in the shape of the inital volume you used to create them :) Make sense?