PDA

View Full Version : What degrees/courses are good to go into the Game/VFX... world

MatthewAlden
12-26-2010, 06:44 PM
Hi, Just to fill you all in with the detail:
I am currently teaching myself Maya and MudBox by Autodesk as well as UDK (Game Engine) by Unreal Technology, I already know how to use After Effects and Photoshop.

I am still at High School UK and I am studying ICT, Computer Science and Media Studies for my A Levels (currently at AS), in my free time I enjoy drawing and doing visuals on my computer but have no actual qualification such as GCSE Art although I did do Design.

(Hope i didn't bore you :wise: )

To the point:
Im curios whether I should do a degree, as I think i should and would actually like something to show as well as a portfolio when it comes to jobs.

Does anyone know of any Universities that i could go to that are really good. I have already looked at Creative Computing at Goldsmiths in London and looked at VFS (Vancouver Film School) for a long time for diplomas.

Does anyone else know any others?
Thanks in advance :cool:

MatthewAlden
12-27-2010, 01:45 PM
http://www.gold.ac.uk/ug/bsc-creative-computing/

Does this seem like a good course, as i wish to be a Game Designer/Artist

leigh
12-27-2010, 06:04 PM
The best course for UK artists is at Bournemouth.

Darkherow
12-27-2010, 10:52 PM
I haven't taken any of the following courses but I heard info about them on the forums.

I believe that Bournemouth are famous for their post graduate programmes (Masters degrees) and not sure about their under graduate. Also the courses are the in NCCA courses that are the best.

University of Hertfordshire, I'll let Moidphotos explain since he's a lecture there and he's normally roaming about on this forum lol.

In games there's University of Teesside in Middlesborough, a Skillset accredited course.

Also while looking around I found this http://www.metfilmschool.co.uk/ not sure how good they are but best to research this.