PDA

View Full Version : do something for each selected object in array?

cgbeige
12-21-2010, 03:55 PM
I'm pretty new to programming and loops so this is probably going to sound like a newb question. I want to run a series of commands on each selected object separately, so that it cycles through all the selected objects, runs a bake render and then selects the next object until it's done with the array. This doesn't seem to work:

$mySelection = `ls -sl`;

for($each in $mySelection)
{
select -r $each;
textFieldGrp -e -text $mySelection -forceChangeCommand vrayFileNamePrefix;
RedoPreviousRender;
}

It just renders once (but renders the correct thing and file name). If you're wondering why I'm doing a crazy ass-backwards bake like this when V-Ray has batch baking, it's because the batch bake doesn't do AO passes and it's much slower.

onetime
12-21-2010, 04:26 PM
Hi cgbeige,

I'm pretty new to programming as well, so consider yourself warned, because I don't want to lead you astray. That said, I've been using this type of script quite a bit lately. It's very handy for a LOT of different things.

I don't have V-Ray, so I'm not sure what you're trying to do exactly. But here's what I would suggest:

Remove the "select -r $each;" line. It seems redundant since the object is already selected (or objects, since you've defined each object in your selection, but only one at a time in this case).

Also, try defining your variable like this:string $mySelection[] = `ls -sl`; I don't know what those [] brackets do, but they have something to do with defining an array (or a matrix… I honestly have no clue yet).

Well, worse case scenario is that you're back to square one. I'm curious what the coding gods will recommend. :)

zoharl
12-21-2010, 04:29 PM
Few options:

1. Locate the problem better. Add:

print $each

to test that the loop actually executes.

2. Just try to use another renderer.

3. Code without a loop two renders. Maybe the redo doesn't do the trick.