PDA

View Full Version : SOS Procedural Terrain with Custom Altitude Map Please Help


andycorleone
12-21-2010, 04:08 PM
Hi,I'm trying to create a procedural Terrain with a Custom Altitude from a Map but I try to blend the simple fractal with my altitude map (via Texture Map) in the function editor.

I connect the fractal with the blend using rough areas (also try altitude)and to the texture using grayscale output (doesn't give me too many options)

http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/989/blendw.jpg

http://img843.imageshack.us/img843/6306/screencapture1j.jpg

but the final output is really bad please someone point me in the right direction. :banghead:

http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/8286/screencapturet.jpg

MikeFrampton
12-21-2010, 04:24 PM
Make sure you have interpolation turned on for your map. It looks like it isn't.

Hope that's it :-)

Best regards

andycorleone
12-21-2010, 05:05 PM
thanks I tried that but not joy improve a little but not a lot, I think I'm using a bad workflow :cry:

eworc
12-21-2010, 08:34 PM
My one minute solution, You could edit the terrain object and then retopoligize it. It will change it to a standard terrain but it will look better. I'm assuming you want to make a sand dune...if so, there are material presets to make it look better from there. If you still have issues, put your scene into a zip file and upload it if you want to make it easier for people to help/give input.

xad
12-21-2010, 09:48 PM
Connect the 'simple fractal' and the 'blender' nodes by 'altitude', 'rough areas' won't work for what you want to do.

As MikeFrampton said, make sure you have interpolation turned on for your texture.

Also if you are using a standard procedural terrain and not an infinite one, make sure to uncheck the 'zero edges' button in the terrain editor.

geekatplay
01-03-2011, 11:07 PM
ALso check that image you using at list 1024x1024 or higher resolution and not compressed.

CGTalk Moderation
01-03-2011, 11:07 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.