PDA

View Full Version : problems rigging a character, can someone help?


azhhael
12-20-2010, 12:20 AM
Hello, i have a char and the head itīs off of the body itīs a separated mesh.
So, i rigged the char, created some blend shapes for the head only, applied the blend shapes and so, i skinned the char twice: once for the body, and once for the head using dual quaternion new skin in Maya 2011. After that, i painted the skin perfectly and the blend shape was perfect... BUT when i tried to move the neck control, the shapes were separated, even with the weights in the skinclusters painted.
To solve this, i combined the meshes and merged the vertices. Itīs all ok now, but, when i tried to add more blend shapes, it didnīt recognize the previous blendshape node. So i am not abble to add BS anymore.
THe great question is...
1 - to add new BS its obvious i have to have the head separated from the body, but HOW do it moves in the same deformation skin weight of the body if i try to paint and paint again and nothing solves it.
2 - if i need not to paint the skin over and over.... and if there is a way to add BS after the unit node by the combine tool.... how do it have to proceed?
can anyone help me???

KohnarForever
12-20-2010, 04:20 AM
If you have a backup file, I would try to create all the blendshapes you need before you merge the vertices. I know that I had a problem with adding new blendshapes and editing blendshapes when there was more than one blendshape node. In the end, I had to add/remove the blendshape node at least 20, if not more, times in order to get all the blendshapes in good working order.

I hope this helps.

MattRennie
12-20-2010, 08:42 AM
I haven't used maya for a long while, but is the blendshape operator before the skinning operator? I believe you need to have the skinning first.

azhhael
12-20-2010, 11:09 AM
oh God... it seams that my big fear itīs right... i have to have ALL BSs ready before to merge vertices and create just one mesh for skinning in the final.

The skincluster must come after the BSs node or the deformation order will cause undesireble results.

But well... i could swear i saw Maya 2011 had no more needs to put this order of deformation... but i might been dreaming.
:cry:

So..... ok.... i must accept and restart the model creating the BSs, so combining the mesh, merging the vertices, and so skinning and painting the skin
... again...

But donīt you think we need to find a way to solve this issue??? And if i forget a unique Blend Shape i need?? Iīd have to be back again and do it all again???? Must have a solution, Maya canīt be so hard!
:banghead:

nuternativ
12-25-2010, 12:09 AM
maybe the solution is to add blendshapes to a 'buffer mesh' (in this case the head geo) that contains every blenshape using pararelle mode, then to have the deformation go through the merged geo using wrap deformer. Finally, blendshape to the skinned mesh.

nuternativ
12-25-2010, 01:38 PM
the work around is to add all your blendShapes to a "buffer head" that being wrap by the combinded mesh (head and body) then blendShape it to the skin mesh.

now, you can add more blendShapes as much as you like.

hope this helps

Boucha
12-26-2010, 08:41 AM
yup just go ahead wrap the blendshape mesh with the new mesh and extract new geometry which can be applied as a blendshape to the model. here wrap deformer is just an aid to extract new geometry !

azhhael
12-28-2010, 10:39 PM
Guys iīll try it to see if i really understood. Any doubt iīll be here again, and any success iīll be back too... i need to thank you guys for the help... uh? Of sure!

See you soon with good news, i hope so.
:bounce:

azhhael
12-29-2010, 11:45 PM
Guys i tested the tip of you and i got a really positive and wonderful result.
Thank u so much!
:bowdown:
:beer:

So, to whom live the same doubt as me here is the tip step by step :deal:

1 - extract the head of the model
2 - create another head mesh for the BlendShape deformation
3 - duplicate the original head again, now it will be the goal mesh for the BS
4 - combine the original head to the body again making this just one mesh again
5 - apply BS from the "child" to the goal mesh
6 - select the body that now itīs just 1 mesh with the head and shift select the head so aplly the wrap deformer
7 - now you can apply the skin with no fear to the body (combined mesh of the head + body)

now... the BS' goal head controls the deformation of the combined mesh with the BS applyied to it...

so.... you can add any BS you need

Thatīs it... :applause:

Thank u again, guys!
:love:

azhhael
01-04-2011, 01:49 AM
Let me describe:

i created an attribute in the general control of the RIG called "freeze all" where i created a simple set driven key that controls all the control curves in the rig to be back to zero point in all their attributes.

Ok...

So... after that, a lot of input nodes called "blendWeightedXXX" (where XXX = a number), for example "blendWeighted85" and a lot of output with the same name and the name "pairBlendXX (where XXX = a number) appeared. Itīs all above the bindPose1 node in the Channel Box.

So, i received this message when i tried to create a key using "S" (yes... i tried to use RMB > Key selected, but i didnīt work too):

// Warning: Current manipulator and active objects have no keyable attributes, , or animation layers are present and the BaseAnimation bar is not selected or locked.

In THE AREA people told that this message reffers to a created Char Set that has no attribute inside yet... so, i created a new char set, i added attributes to it to test the "theory" and i got the same message when i tried to set a key:

// Warning: Current manipulator and active objects have no keyable attributes, , or animation layers are present and the BaseAnimation bar is not selected or locked.

So... i gone to the Hypergraph > Connections and i deleted all the node above i told about:
- blendWeighted nodes
- pairBlend nodes
so, i lost all my Set Driven Keys, but now i could set keys in the channels and char set.

So, my question is:

What happened? Can someone tell me? Explain me what nodes r that and how it were created, and why do these interfere in the key setting?
:banghead:

Another question is:

After i set a set driven key, is there a way to "cancel it" without use the "break connections" option?
:cry:

Thank u since now...

nuternativ
01-04-2011, 02:35 PM
Those pairBlend and blendWeight were created automatically by having two incoming connections running through one attribute. (just like a cube gets 'blue label'(constraint) on it's attributes, then it gets key by user pressing 's' on the keyboard, these two nodes appear to let you choose if these attributes are going to go with the animation keys or the constraint.
set driven key is simply an animation key on a graph where y is the value and x is another value(not the frame).

If, you need a quick way of resetting all your attributes to zero, try this in your Mel command line or script editor:

setAttr ("object.attribute") value;
example: setAttr ("John_Rht_arm_ctrl.translateX") 0;

Write all you need, then highlight select all of them, middle mouse button drag it to your shelf, choose Mel to create a button you can press to reset all your controls to zero anytime you want.

To cancle the set driven keys, breaking connections on the channelbox doesn't kill the animation graph node. You have to get to hypergraph to actually see the node and it's connection to delete them.


hope this helps, excuse my english :D

azhhael
01-06-2011, 11:15 PM
Thank u so much my friend. Now i have a better idea of what these nodes means.
So after i did a test about what you told me, i read the Help and found this:

"The pairBlend node is automatically generated when both keyframe animation and a constraint are applied to an object. Once the animation and constraint are linked to the pairBlend node, you can modify the weight of the Animation-Constraint blend to generate various effects"

after the test with the cube, i could understood, thanx for the tip.

About the blendWeighted node...

"Performs a weighted sum of its inputs to compute the output.
output = input(0) * weight(0) + input(1) * weight(1) + ... "

"When the driven object is selected, all its target and blend weight values can be viewed in the Channel Box under SHAPES > objectn_typeConstraintn or INPUTS > pairBlendn.
The keyframe animation-constraint blend value determines the amount of influence that the constraint and keyframe animation have on the constrained object. If the value is 0, the keyframe animation has total control over the constrained object’s transformations. If the value is 1, the constraint has total control over the constrained object’s transformations.

If there are more than one of the same type of constraint applied to the object, n stands for the constraint number. This value appears in the pairBlend node’s attributes as Weight."

I have a lot of to test and clarify all these in my mind about the usage i can have of all these atts and nodes, but for now, itīs good to understood at least what do they do and where did they come from.
:beer:

azhhael
01-06-2011, 11:17 PM
set driven key is simply an animation key on a graph where y is the value and x is another value(not the frame).

If, you need a quick way of resetting all your attributes to zero, try this in your Mel command line or script editor:

setAttr ("object.attribute") value;
example: setAttr ("John_Rht_arm_ctrl.translateX") 0;

Write all you need, then highlight select all of them, middle mouse button drag it to your shelf, choose Mel to create a button you can press to reset all your controls to zero anytime you want.

To cancle the set driven keys, breaking connections on the channelbox doesn't kill the animation graph node. You have to get to hypergraph to actually see the node and it's connection to delete them.


Thank you nuternativ...

Iīll try these tip in my actual project cause it will be really helpful.
:applause:

MtatFluler
01-21-2011, 07:00 AM
Hello, I'm sorry to hi-jack the thread, but I wondered if one of you rigging specialists could help me with something?

I am in the process of learning how to rig. I have modelled a robot and I'm trying to rig the legs to move a certain way, but without any luck.

Please see the attached images at this link - http://www.digitaltutors.com/forum/showthread.php?24877-Robot-rigging-question.-Need-help-please!-(Maya)

Basically, I want point 'A' to work as a knee pivot, causing point 'B' and 'C' to close and come together when the leg bends (and vice versa when it moves outward). I want point 'D' to be a fixed position, with the leg moving forward, back, right and left from that point.

Whenever I have tried to rig the leg, point 'B' and 'C' have either stayed the same distance or just moved outward, and not inward.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Matt.

CGTalk Moderation
01-21-2011, 07:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.