PDA

View Full Version : [PYTHON] Create Button in for loop

Luckycat
12-15-2010, 11:21 AM
Hello all,

I'm stuck with an UI creation exercise.
I got a list of object that run into a for loop, each object creating a specific button.
For the button themselves, no problem. Where I got stuck is in the creation of command for each button. I'm pretty new to python so after so research I come with setting my UI controls in a class and using the lambda function for the commands.
My script looks like this:

class UI:
def __init__(self):
for obj in wrongTopoObj: #wrongTopoObj is the object list
self.button = cmds.iconTextButton( label=obj, command=lambda *args: self.fromButtonSelect(obj))
def fromButtonSelect(self, *args):
selectCurObj = cmds.select(*args)

The result is ok for button, their label is ok BUT the command is wrong because it's always selecting the last object of the wrongTopoObj list.
Any idea ??
Thanks

Sam

Luckycat
12-15-2010, 01:15 PM
ok problem solved.
Need to force the refresh of the lamba giving it a value directly.
Code looks like this - I make it simplier by the way, no need for extra function.:rolleyes:

self.button=cmds.iconTextButton(label=obj, command=lambda v=obj: cmds.select(v))

check this link
http://mail.python.org/pipermail/tutor/2005-November/043360.html

meuH
12-15-2010, 05:56 PM
you might want to look into functools.partial

I had to do a tool with buttons generated through a loop, and partial seems to be a tiny bit more elegant than lamdba for this use.

I read about it on Ryan's blog over there http://www.rtrowbridge.com/blog/2010/02/maya-python-ui-example/

ok problem solved.
Need to force the refresh of the lamba giving it a value directly.

haggi
12-15-2010, 06:30 PM
In pymel you have a Callback function, it works like this:

command = pm.Callback(function, arguments)

very elegant too.

blazelet
12-18-2010, 08:53 PM