PDA

View Full Version : MEL script to output all attribute values to a .txt file?

Zeternal
12-13-2010, 07:08 PM
Ok, forgive me if this is already posted as I am extremely new to the world of MEL scripting. I did several searches on this, and it's possible that due to my lack of knowledge on MEL language terminology that I was unable to find anything about this topic.

So I am currently testing an underwater lighting setup, and received some help along the way. I wanted to be able to output all values of attributes in use, into an easily viewable text or word file to send to the individual that assisted me early on. I realize that I could just click on every tab and type them out but I thought it would be nice to write a script that would do this for me.

My shader network is rather complex has several nodes and it would be nice to have somewhat of a master sheet to refer back to, as well as to pass along to others. If anyone has any suggestions or can tell me how to do this I would be extremely appreciative!

I have read up on getAttr:, and listAttr, I was able to list the attributes however not the values associated with them.

Kyle

Thanks in advance!

haggi
12-13-2010, 10:07 PM
You can do it, but it is a bit more complex. If you are new to mel, I suggest to use python instead of mel. But for both you need some deeper knowledge of maya and python/mel, especially if you want to parse a shading network.

Zeternal
12-16-2010, 04:51 AM
Haggi,

Thanks for your response and I have a firm grasp on the software, however the language that drives it is new. I won't ask you to explain it, however would you mind giving me some keywords that might help me find refrence through the forum or google? Also I don't 100% need it to write to a text file, copy and pasting from the script editor works if that simplifies things.
Thanks!

Kyle

ginodauri
12-16-2010, 08:25 AM
Question here is what attributes you really want to output to text file.