PDA

View Full Version : Scripted Rollout GUI on CA-- Question on historical user interaction from timeSlider

Archangel35757
12-12-2010, 06:36 PM
Hello, I'm new to MAXscript and am currently creating a rigging GUI scripted rollout on a Custom Attribute (which has a button that launches the rollout GUI).

I'm in the process of creating event handlers now for the buttons, and I've run into a problem (sort of)...

I have two checkbuttons labeled "ON" and "OFF" and they are controlling the height of a cylinder from either 0 to full height (extending/retracting over a user spinner-specified number of frames). I have the "ON" / "OFF" checkbuttons setup up where they toggle each other's enabled state (so choosing "ON" forces user to choose "OFF" and vice versa-- and this is working like I want).

However, after placing some "ON"/"OFF" keys for the cylinder using the ON/OFF checkbuttons... I've noticed that when scrubbing the time slider the "ON" / "OFF" checkbuttons do not reflect their proper historical state-- but rather only shows the last keyframed state (whether that be "ON" or "OFF")-- have I explained this well enough?

My question is-- how do I get the "ON" / "OFF" check buttons to reflect their historical states for previously keyed frames when scrubbing the time slider (and not just the last ON/OFF keyframe state)???

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

elT
12-12-2010, 06:54 PM
I'd suggest using multiple radio buttons instead.
from the help:

"A radiobuttons control is used to place a set of radio buttons on the rollout, only one of which can be checked at a time. The user can click different buttons in the set to change states."

Use two buttons labeled on and of and just case of switch to get what you need. Should be much easier to code and will probably work the way you want from the get go.

Hope it helps.

Cheers!

Archangel35757
12-12-2010, 07:08 PM
I'd suggest using multiple radio buttons instead.
from the help: