PDA

View Full Version : Real-looking overexposure in a bright room?

twosheds
12-04-2010, 10:42 PM
Hiya. :)

I'm wondering how to get that overexposed look in a room, such as when your camera is facing a window with very bright sunlight outside. You know, the way the area around the window seems to almost glow pure white, but doesn't necessarily blow out everything in the room, since the effect dies off.
I guess this is a result of the light being too bright for the shutter speed and blowing it out at the main light source?
If I were a photographer maybe I'd have the proper terminology, but I'm just a modeler and texture artist of game assets and a part-time arch viz wannabee, so I don't know how to describe it. ;)

I'm wondering how to do this with mental ray, in either Maya or Softimage, although I suspect the technique would be more or less the same with mr in either.

pokoy
12-06-2010, 02:15 PM
What you're looking for is the glare or bloom effect. There's indeed a glare shader in mray, though you'd have to search for how it's used in maya/xsi.

soulburn3d
12-06-2010, 02:22 PM
I'd do it in post using a piece of compositing software. It's just faster to dial in the exact settings you'll want.

- Neil

mister3d
12-06-2010, 08:33 PM
I'd do it in post using a piece of compositing software. It's just faster to dial in the exact settings you'll want.

- Neil
There may be antialiasing issues if exposure is taken too high in post, and noise may appear. Maybe if you set up a very high-quality sampling it won't.

kanooshka
12-06-2010, 09:49 PM
If you're going to do it in post I'd recommend rendering in at least 16 bit but 32 bit is preferable. That way there's more information to work with.

jipe
12-07-2010, 02:07 AM
Just out of curiosity, what does everyone use in post? I see recommendations like Sapphire from GenArts, but last I looked that's over $1500. I've never used anything but the default glows in After Effects so I suppose I don't know what I'm missing.