PDA

View Full Version : Life drawing advice for beginner/intermediate artists

Lunatique
12-04-2010, 04:31 AM
I was asked by someone in the anatomy/figure forum to critique his figure drawing and help him improve, and what I said to him is what I would say to any beginner/intermediate artist. I think this is important so I'm re-posting it here in the Art T&T forum.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In general, as a teacher, I do not condone the often regurgitated saying that anyone must draw figures from life and do gesture drawings right away, because most people who regurgitate that saying do not take into consideration the fact that beginners do not have the proper observational and analytical skills, nor do they have the required eye-to-hand coordination, or basic understanding of anatomy and figure structure, and worse yet, they don't even have the ability to simply reproduce what they see in front of them with competent accuracy.

When beginners are told to just do as much life drawing and gesture sketches as possible, they are getting really bad and uninformed advice IMO. It's like telling someone who's trying to learn how to swim to just jump off the boat into the deep ocean and have a go at it. It's completely counterproductive and will in fact hurt the beginner because it'll create unnecessary frustration, a feeling of helplessness, confusion, discouragement, and self-loathing. It feels a lot like shoving a martial arts beginner into the ring for full-contact competition and then seeing that beginner get pummeled into a bloody pulp. Anyone who is dishing out this kind of advice has not taken the time to fully consider the psychological aspects of learning and teaching.