PDA

View Full Version : "regular" explosion problems

Noodle!
12-02-2010, 06:28 PM
Hey guys, I've been having a pretty bad time with maya fluids for the last three days. Basically I'm trying to make an explosion that hits a robot in the chest about 6 foot above ground. Sounds easy right? Unfortunately I'm an animator, and I'm not technically minded in the slightest, but this has to be done for a school project.

There's a ton of info on how to create large nukes, but it seems not to be applicable to smaller scale explosions. Especially with the explosion having to expand the fluid very rapidly and then dissipate faster.

I've tried a few things. First I made a particle emitter that put out two frames worth of particles, and then emitted fluids from them. I also animated the timescale from 6 to 1 in the first few frames to give the expansion much more speed.
I then put a radial field with huge magnitude on for a few frames to really push those fluids out.
However, while the first three frames might look good, it all goes downhill from there. I can't seem to control the way the fluids behave, and they leave "stragglers" behind that seemingly don't care about buoyancy.

I do have access to "Introduction to Maya Fluid Effects", but I found it hard to apply this information to an explosion.

Are there any tutorials around for a dynamic fluid explosion that is not a nuke and/or does not originate on the ground? Sorry if this is a lot at once, from an extreme noob on this area.

Calibrix
12-02-2010, 06:35 PM
For something that explodes and dissipates quickly you should look into making a non-dynamic fluid. You can use a texture on a center gradient to make an explosion. Look at the visor for an example. With this method, once you have the texture set up the way you like it, you can just animate attributes.

Noodle!
12-02-2010, 07:53 PM