PDA

View Full Version : UI - grabbing current selection

Aikiman
11-28-2010, 10:40 PM
I m building a mel UI and want to grab the currently selected object to put into a textFieldButtonGrp, is this possible? Im pretty new to UI stuff but can see the difference between this object and the textScrollList where one can append objects to the list.

All I want to do is to use a button to grab the object and oput into the text field, then eventually run a command that uses that value in a procedure.

Which is the better way to go?

NaughtyNathan
11-29-2010, 08:18 AM
at a very basic level, this is super easy.

first, NAME your textFieldButtonGrp control so you can -query and -edit it easily later. Then write a small global proc that queries the current selection, then edits your named textFieldButtonGrp -text flag with the first item on the returned list. Simply assign this proc to the button you press to grab the selection and you're done.

this it the basic idea in a nutshell, and I'm guessing that's all you want, but there are several problems with this if you want to get super complicated... If you use the full DAG name it looks unsightly to the user, but if you don't you have potential issues with multiple short names. Ideally you want to store the long name in a hidden area and place the short name in the textField, but this requires a slightly more complex proc to manage the textField. Additionally, a textField is just a piece of text, it has no real connection to the node itself. If you rename or reparent your node, the textField entry becomes redundant. MEL has no real "Object Button" UI that has a link to the actual node like you have in MAX (so I hear).

:nathaN

NaughtyNathan
11-29-2010, 08:28 AM
here's a simple example:

global proc getObjectNameForField()
{
string $sel[] = `ls -sl -tr`; // get current selection (transforms)
string $firstItem = $sel[0];
// now -edit the textField control with our new text: