PDA

View Full Version : Moitionbuilder 5 or will LW 8 be just as good?

nessjp
10-11-2003, 12:54 AM
Hi,

I keep getting these letters from Kaydara that I can upgrade to MotionBuilder 5 for $200 if I get it before Dec. 31 as part of the promotional 3D world offer a few months back.

I am still an amateur and am only just starting to dabble with the animation side of LW so this has really been of no concern yet.

As I venture into this part of the program, it sounds like Motionbuilder is the app to have to make up for LW shortcomings in animation. However, with LW 8 focusing on the animation side of the program, will it now be comparable to MotionBuilder?

Does MotionBuilder make rigging and animating an easier process?

Although I have not done any yet, it seems overwhelming and I would like simplicity.

I Was never able to get the demo/trial Motionbuilder installed due to some licensing errors or something so I cannot try it and see for myself. The $200 permanent version will ship me the box, cd, manual, tutorials, etc., so installing that version I would assume would not give me any issues.

I guess, I also should consider the fact that Motionbuilder would work for other apps as well and it would normally cost me $1000 so I should probably buy it anyway. Will it work with LW 8?

Thanks

Triple G
10-11-2003, 01:53 AM
Take a look here: http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=93809

takkun
10-11-2003, 02:43 AM
Lightwave 8 definitely won't have all the bells and whistles of Motionbuilder 5 (like the auto lip sync and the story timeline) but it looks like it will have a comparable IK system and the abilities of a mini-dopesheet like Keytrak. Both are looking to be good solutions, but I'm going to wait for LW8 before making a decision.

geoff3dnz
10-11-2003, 06:43 AM