PDA

View Full Version : Vue 9 Feedback

RLM
11-24-2010, 10:51 PM
Hi Folks,

I know Vue 9 has literally only just been relased but if you are using this latest release and get some spare time, please leave feeback here. I am currently awaiting Vue 9 Infinite PLE to be released before deciding if I am going to make a purchase this year or again pass until more improvements have been made. I am sure there are many other in the same situation too, so hopefully this topic wll be appreciated by all.

If you could kindly start each reply with a basic breakdown of the hardware you are running Vue on, that would be really useful too!

Thanks and all the best,

Jay

Linden-Stirk
12-01-2010, 01:50 AM
Hi RLM,

I'm one of the few fortunate people here at the forums who has had a good experience with Vue. Since I'm a student, I get free upgrades (which I think everyone should). Anyway, Vue 9 is definitely an improvement over Vue 8.5. It renders much faster, and there's less noise in the clouds and less noise while rendering an animation when the wind is turned on. There are a few other features too. I've used Vue since the 7.4 release and I haven't experienced many issues with stability, except with the Maya xStream plugin, which hardly worked at all for me. Occasionally I get random crashes, but it has always auto-saved and never corrupted a file for me. As for animation, I've really only used xStream with 3ds Max and mental ray extensively and successfully. I haven't really got used to Vue's awful camera wizard thing. I know you've had a lot of problems with Vue in the past. Hopefully, the Vue 9 PLE will work a lot better for you. And I guess I've just been lucky. :shrug:

Here are my specs:
Windows 7 x64 Professional
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Processor 2.80 GHz
DDR3 8GB
GeForce GTX 460 1GB

...and I set Vue's viewport display to OpenGL 2.1 shader 4.

Linden

eworc
12-01-2010, 02:39 AM
Here are my specs:
Lenevo Y560 i7-740QM 1.73GHZ
Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
DDR3 8GB