PDA

View Full Version : Terrain Modelling Advice


Raptar
11-21-2010, 06:48 PM
Hi there, I'm at the NCCA in Bournemouth and was looking for some help with a problem I have encountered in my final year Major.

Having never used Vue before embarking on this project I consider myself as a pretty inexperienced user. I am trying to create a large environment that encompasses a city with a deep dried up river/ravine running along one side of it, spanned by a suspension bridge. In the distance I need a couple of mountains but the main part of it would be a generally flat desolate kind of wasteland.

The problem that I am having is that I have been warned off using large number of zones (on a procedural terrain) for sculpting and seem to run into a lot of material/mapping errors when I do. The ravine will need to be highly detailed near the bridge as a camera passes very close but the far reaches of the ravine would not need to be as detailed.

Basically I am looking for an overall method to produce this scene in the most realistic and detailed fashion.

I have viewed a number of tutorials on Vue terrain modelling but I can't quite grasp how I am going to do this scene. Is there a way to procedurally create this ravine running through my entire terrain without covering the whole thing in rivers?

Or is the answer to make it all in separate pieces and trick the eye that the terrain is one full piece?

How would you go about it? Any suggestions will be very much appreciated

Thanks :D

RLM
11-24-2010, 10:04 PM
It's really a shame these Vue forums are so quiet (Although Vue is very specialist and therefore has a smaller following than other software anyway) as you would have got an answer by now in virtually any other software forum. I would personally recommend doing this in sections, so that you can manage the size of your scene far more efficiently though. Factors such as your final camera angles, field of view and depth of field within the scene will all effect how viable this is though, so it's hard to give an exact solution here. Basically, the method you should use will depend on how much of your scene is seen by the camera at any time during the animation and only you will have access to this information.

You may get more in depth help over at: www.cornucopia3d.com (http://www.cornucopia3d.com) though. Good luck,

Jay

CGTalk Moderation
11-24-2010, 10:04 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.