PDA

View Full Version : Particle Flow doesnt work after re-opening scene

JohnDoe22
11-16-2010, 11:36 AM
Hi, i just posted a new thread, but can't find it anywhere... think something went wrong, so here again:)

I'm using 3ds Max 2011 64bit with SP1 (Advantage Pack, with new Physx) and Particle Toolbox 1,2,3. I'm kinda new to PF, so i'll try to explain my problem.

I have two hollow shapes, each one is filled up with particles by it's own birth event.
EVENT: Birth, Physx World, Cache Disk, Position Object, Shape, Physx Shape, Spin, Material Static, Display, Physx Colission, Age Test.
Both birt events use the same Physx World driver. At frame 225 the age test sends both particle events to 1 new event.
EVENT: Shape, Physx Shape, Physx World, Material Static, Display, Physx Colission.
This event uses a new Physx World driver. In this event the Physx Collision fillshapes are removed, so that the particles fall to the ground.

So far so good, but every time i re-open my scene (after a save, a crash, whatever) and i try to render, Max crashes at frame 255 where event 3 kicks in. And i have to delete this event and rebuild it every time. This way it's impossible to render the whole scene because of system crashes, powerouts, rendertime, etc. :) I just want to perfect my settings and add a Disk Cache to the 3th event as well so i can render my scene in multiple parts, without any changes to the position of my particles every time i had to rebuild my 3th event.

So what am i doing wrong here?????
thx

PsychoSilence
11-16-2010, 01:24 PM
it would help if you could attach your scene file for debugging.

JohnDoe22
11-16-2010, 01:43 PM
it would help if you could attach your scene file for debugging.
I've send you the link via PM

PsychoSilence
11-16-2010, 03:11 PM
fixed sort of and replied :)

JohnDoe22
11-16-2010, 03:20 PM