PDA

View Full Version : T-Pose Variations

DustinBrown
11-11-2010, 10:48 PM
I'm a character modeler, and I'm trying to create a visual asset I can send to anyone who will be rigging one of my characters, so they can basically pick the pose they prefer my models to be provided in. But it's also going to be something anyone can freely download if they wish to use it as a guide.

http://www.dustinbrown.com/wip/temp/tposes.jpg

I've heard the term "invisible motorcycle" pose thrown around, but I wasn't sure how literally to take that phrase. Should the spine be bent forward? Should it be more of a sitting position?

http://www.dustinbrown.com/wip/temp/image27.png

Also, if anyone would be willing to take the time to outline the Pros and Cons to each type of pose, I'll include that information on the final image!

eek
11-13-2010, 06:57 PM
Those looks pretty nice Dustin, hope i haven't set a trend calling it the 'invisible motorbike' lol. More like T, A or S.

T-Pose really is a reference to motion capture so arms should be straight out, fingers straight, thumb 45 degrees forward and down. Legs straight down and feet/toes forward. With motion builder the t-pose is as straight as possible with hardly any bend at the elbows/knees - maybe 2-5 degrees.

A Pose is a neutral - arms down and out, a little weight on the body, the legs bent and out.

S Pose is pretty similar, is just more of the same most of the main joints have got deformation to them.

I'd even go as far as saying A & S are the same depending on the asset - if its a monkey its natural pose we lend more towards the 'motor bike' pose. If its a human its more 'A'. The best way to describe it is as being a neutral stance of the character.

DustinBrown
11-14-2010, 04:46 AM
You may very well have at that :) I did some research and it came up on a few forums.