PDA

View Full Version : My final animation from school. Feedback welcomed

Catwalker
11-07-2010, 06:49 AM
About six months ago I finished an associates degree in "Video Game Art" from Kalamazoo Valley Community College. Overall I enjoyed the experience and I think I learned a lot along the way. This animation, Coconut, represents about 3 months worth of work while taking one other class at the same time (and taking care of my kids). So... I don't know how many man hours I put into it exactly... seemed like quite a few. In the end the deadline did have some impact on the final product, but I'm sure it almost always does. I would love to get some feedback.

Coconut (on YouTube) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-Z8RbzMGk8)

Looking forward to getting to know you folks and sharing knowledge with you. :)

WeezTheJuice
11-08-2010, 03:44 AM
Nice work man, it's always quite a task to accomplish a short on your own. I realize that deadlines are nasty and we don't always have time to perfect everything but I have just a couple crits. I think reworking your textures would improve the piece a lot, specifically in some of the interior shots of the ship and the palm trees. Also I think the drastic camera move in space (at around 0:17) should be changed. In 3d its easy to get a bit carried away because we aren't constrained by real world properties of film but that camera move in real life would have encompassed probably hundreds of miles, so once it happened, it ruined the illusion of scale in the environment and made that shot look a bit flat and cg-looking instead of portraying a vast space. I did like the story though, and your sound design was surprisingly good considering you did everything yourself, that's usually one of the weaker areas.

MrcorroC
11-08-2010, 04:34 AM