PDA

View Full Version : Auto Save Script - help please

theazz
11-03-2010, 02:30 PM
hey guys

im not that experienced in MEL, but im trying to write a script i would like lots of artists / animators around my company to be able to use, it has to be as use friendly as possible, its an auto save script.

im having 2 issues currently

firstly, i want the options window for this to be available near all the other save related stuff in the file menu, ive seen other scripts do this and it makes it consistent and easy for artists to find.

currently im doing this

global string $gMainFileMenu;
string $menuItem[] = `menu -q -ia $gMainFileMenu`;
if (stringArrayCount("srOptionsMenu", $menuItem)==0)
{
setParent -menu $gMainFileMenu;
menuItem -label "Save Reminder Options" -annotation "saveRemindAD Options" -command "srAD_options" -ia $menuItem[7] srOptionsMenu;
setParent -m ..;
}

if i source this during a session of maya it works well, however, if its sourced through userSetup.mel, it replaces and the entire file menu so there is only this, disaster!

secondly, being a script which works silenty, it has to basically initialise a scriptjob on mayas startup. now i know i could get people to edit / create there userSetup.mel files but its not very artist friendly. i want to easily be able to "install" the script

my only thought is that i could in MEL check to see if the userSetup.mel file and if they do edit it, if they dont create it, but ive hit a bit of a block in that when i quiry the maya env's to get the script path, i get loads when i just want the normal one at "C / docs n settings / maya / 2010 / scripts etc" - while obviosuly being platform / version / OS independent so it works for all

any thoughts? thanks in advance

NaughtyNathan
11-03-2010, 04:09 PM
evalDeferred any changes to the file menu and this should help.

no need to query the script path, simply use this to get the userSetup: