PDA

View Full Version : how to output 2D spline vectors to coords for use in 3D app


ezalife
11-02-2010, 03:19 PM
hi guys, hope this is the right place for this question.

I've inherited an Away3D project that is displaying text in 3D space.
the text is being generated by loading arrays containing the coords for recreating each letter through vertexes / splines. I need to update the copy but haven't a clue how this VertexData was created in the first place. HELP please. and pointers would be massively appreciated.

example of current code (don't know whta letter this draws but assuming 2 params is a vertex and 4 is a curve?

var shp_6:Array = [];
shp_6.push(['M', 120.65, 14.7]);
shp_6.push(['C', 118.2, 16, 116.1, 18.75]);
shp_6.push(['L', 120.25, 22]);
shp_6.push(['C', 121.7, 20.1, 123.15, 19.2]);
shp_6.push(['C', 124.6, 18.3, 126.2, 18.3]);
shp_6.push(['C', 127.85, 18.3, 128.8, 19.1]);
shp_6.push(['C', 129.8, 19.85, 129.8, 21.2]);
shp_6.push(['C', 129.8, 23.15, 125.7, 24.65]);
shp_6.push(['C', 125.3, 24.85, 125.05, 24.95]);
shp_6.push(['C', 120.15, 26.8, 118.55, 28.55]);
shp_6.push(['C', 116.9, 30.3, 116.9, 33.05]);
shp_6.push(['C', 116.9, 36.45, 119.4, 38.6]);
shp_6.push(['C', 121.9, 40.75, 125.9, 40.75]);
shp_6.push(['C', 128.55, 40.75, 130.7, 39.8]);
shp_6.push(['C', 132.85, 38.85, 134.7, 36.85]);
shp_6.push(['L', 130.75, 33.35]);
shp_6.push(['C', 129.5, 34.75, 128.25, 35.4]);
shp_6.push(['C', 127, 36.05, 125.7, 36.05]);
shp_6.push(['C', 124.15, 36.05, 123.25, 35.35]);
shp_6.push(['C', 122.35, 34.65, 122.35, 33.45]);
shp_6.push(['C', 122.35, 31.95, 126.45, 30.35]);
shp_6.push(['C', 127.55, 29.95, 128.2, 29.7]);
shp_6.push(['C', 132.4, 28.1, 133.9, 26.3]);
shp_6.push(['C', 135.45, 24.5, 135.45, 21.45]);
shp_6.push(['C', 135.45, 17.85, 132.95, 15.65]);
shp_6.push(['C', 130.5, 13.4, 126.35, 13.4]);
shp_6.push(['C', 123.1, 13.4, 120.65, 14.7]);
var shp_6_fill:Array = [0xffffff];
vectorData.push([shp_6, shp_6_fill]);

cheers in advance, Rich

ezalife
11-03-2010, 09:43 AM
guessing no-one knows here but can anyone suggest maybe a forum that might be able to help?

earlyworm
11-05-2010, 09:47 AM
I'm not familiar with Away3D - although they do have a support forum - perhaps you could ask them. At least then you might be able to find out what the numbers mean and then things might make a bit more sense (I'm at a lost as to what the numbers refer to exactly).

You also don't mention what 3D app/s you'd like to import this into.

CGTalk Moderation
11-05-2010, 09:47 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.