PDA

View Full Version : Need texturing help PLEASE!! :)

Jeffo
05-30-2002, 03:02 PM
Hi guys,

i really need some help with texturing this head, im not too good at unwrapping yet, so any help with what method to use, or any techniques would be greatly appreciated.

thanks,

leigh
05-30-2002, 03:27 PM
Hmmm....
Ok, well where to start??

Firstly I would recommend that you do the front of the face, the top of the head, the ears, the inside of the mouth, and the back of the head all seperately.
If I had to texture it, I would start off by selecting all the polys that make up the front of the face, and back until where the polys join with the ears.

Then I would do a planar unwrap of it (on the z axis), and edit the UV map so that the polys which are on the sides of the head lie flat out alongside the front ones. And also pull the polys out that are behind the nostrils so that they too lie flat along with the rest of it.

Then export it and paint your maps - I always find the colour map is the best one to start with so that you can go back and check all the time how the placement is.

Then select the polys that make up the other sections and planar unwrap them too - the reason I'm suggestion planar, is because the head is a little too irregular for cylindrical/spherical mapping.
Use an X-axis unwrap for the ears, Z for the back of the head, cylindrical Z for the inside of the mouth, and Y for the top of the head. I know this is pretty obvious, but I'm just going step by step.

It actually shouldn't be too hard to do this one ;)

But take it one step at a time.
Do the front of the face, and then post your results here...

Jeffo
05-30-2002, 04:49 PM
Hi,